eto.

Each story. Every side.

Friday, September 18, 2026

The Fed raises interest rates. And, EU proposes Canada become an 'associate member'

The Federal Reserve unanimously voted to raise interest rates for the first time in more than three years, increasing the benchmark rate by a quarter percentage point to a range of 3.75% to 4%. The hike makes it more expensive to borrow money, grow a business or carry a credit card balance. Inflation has risen amid the war in Iran, driving up the price of gasoline and diesel fuel. While higher interest rates won't immediately lower prices, they demonstrate the Fed's commitment to restoring price stability, despite repeated pressure from President Trump to lower interest rates.

The European Union has proposed making Canada its first-ever "associate member." European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen announced the proposal for the new model of membership during her annual speech to the EU Parliament in Strasbourg, France. Canadian Prime Minister Mark Carney emphasized how much the EU and Canada have in common and said that "Europe and Canada are stronger together." The EU says it wants to create a relationship with Canada unlike any it has built before.

Where the accounts differ

NPR reports that Trump's demands for lower rates came up frequently during Fed Chair Kevin Warsh's press conference, while Axios and The Hill do not mention this. Fox Business and Al Jazeera report that Trump called Canada's potential EU associate membership "laughable" and warned of heavy tariffs, while NPR and Newsweek do not mention this. Newsweek states that Todd Belt, a professor at George Washington University, said Trump underestimated Carney's resolve, while other accounts do not mention this. Axios and The Hill report that Trump threatened to impose 50% tariffs on Canadian goods, while NPR and Fox Business do not mention the specific percentage.

Trump withdraws Lance Schroyer, a former Oklahoma state trooper, as his nominee to lead ICE

The White House withdrew its nomination of Lance Schroyer, a former Oklahoma state trooper, to lead U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) on Thursday. Schroyer, who has little experience in immigration, was close to Homeland Security Secretary Markwayne Mullin. The White House provided no explanation for the withdrawal. ICE has not had a Senate-confirmed leader since the Obama administration, with David Venturella currently serving as acting director. Schroyer's nomination had stalled in the Senate Homeland Security Committee, where Sen. Rand Paul, R-Ky., had delayed the process until the White House provided more information about ICE and Border Patrol shootings that killed two Americans in Minneapolis earlier this year.

Schroyer's nomination was announced by Trump in June, with the president calling him a "PATRIOT with real operational experience" and a "proven leader with DECADES of experience locking up the worst of the worst." The withdrawal marks another setback for Trump's immigration agenda, which has faced criticism over its handling of enforcement operations and the deaths of civilians during raids. Paul, who chairs the Senate Homeland Security Committee, said he would not advance the nomination to a full vote until the White House provided more information about the Minneapolis killings.

Where the accounts differ

NPR and UPI both state that Schroyer had little experience in immigration and that his nomination had stalled in the Senate Homeland Security Committee. BBC and New York Post mention that Schroyer had no experience leading a law enforcement agency. Just The News and The Daily Wire do not mention Schroyer's experience in immigration or law enforcement leadership. The Daily Wire focuses on the hiring and vetting of ICE officers, which is not covered in the other accounts. UPI states that the Senate hasn't confirmed an ICE director since 2014, while NPR and BBC say since 2017. New York Post and UPI mention that the acting director can stay in place for up to 210 days unless another nominee is announced, which is not mentioned in the other accounts.

U.S. Officials Held Secret Talks With Iran-Backed Houthis in Oman Amid Escalating Yemen Conflict

U.S. officials reportedly held undisclosed talks with Iran-backed Houthi representatives in Oman over the weekend as the rebels made major battlefield gains against Saudi-backed forces in Yemen. The meeting took place at the U.S. Embassy in Muscat and was facilitated by the Omani government, according to Reuters. The Houthis allegedly told American officials they had no intention of attacking U.S. vessels and remained committed to a 2025 ceasefire with Washington. A Yemeni source also said the Houthis pledged not to attack Israeli or other commercial vessels, except for Saudi ships. The State Department did not confirm the meeting but stated that protecting freedom of navigation in the Red Sea and preventing the export of terrorism from the Middle East remain core U.S. interests.

The conflict has intensified with Yemeni government forces reporting strikes on Houthi positions around Mocha and drone attacks in Marib. The Houthis claimed to have shot down a Saudi F-15 fighter jet over Marib. Saudi Arabia has requested missile defense support from allies as its stock of interceptors dwindles. U.S. officials have reiterated support for Yemen’s internationally recognized government, while the Houthis have seized control of key areas near the Red Sea and the Bab el-Mandeb Strait, a critical shipping route.

Where the accounts differ

The Daily Caller and Al Jazeera both report that U.S. officials held direct talks with Houthi representatives in Oman, but only the Daily Caller and Al Jazeera mention that the Houthis allegedly told U.S. officials they had no intention of attacking U.S. vessels and remained committed to the 2025 ceasefire. The Daily Caller also notes that a Yemeni source said the Houthis pledged not to attack Israeli or other commercial vessels, except for Saudi ships, while Al Jazeera does not include this detail. The Newsweek article does not mention the U.S.-Houthi talks or the ceasefire commitment, instead focusing on the broader context of the conflict and historical parallels. The UPI and FOX News do not mention the U.S.-Houthi talks at all, with FOX News instead emphasizing the threat to Saudi oil production and the involvement of Iran. The NPR article does not mention the U.S.-Houthi talks but highlights the impact of Houthi attacks on Saudi oil exports and the humanitarian crisis in Yemen.

Mike Johnson Cancels Thursday Votes, Sends House Home Early

Speaker Mike Johnson announced Wednesday that the House would send Congress home early for a seven-week recess ahead of the November midterms. The move comes as Rep. Thomas Massie (R-Ky.) introduced eight articles of impeachment against Secretary of Defense Pete Hegseth, accusing him of violating the War Powers Resolution and engaging in unlawful military actions. Massie argued that the early recess was a direct response to his impeachment resolution, which would have forced a vote within two legislative days. Johnson, however, dismissed the impeachment effort as a “publicity stunt” and claimed the early recess was to allow members to campaign for re-election.

Massie accused Johnson of using the calendar to avoid politically sensitive votes, including the impeachment of Hegseth and a discharge petition to force the release of files related to Jeffrey Epstein. He claimed the speaker could have held the impeachment vote earlier, calling the recess the “Hegseth holiday.” The Pentagon defended Hegseth, stating the “entire Department is unified behind the Secretary’s vision.”

Where the accounts differ

Mother Jones and The Hill both report that Massie attributed the early recess to the impeachment resolution, though Mother Jones notes Johnson did not directly link the recess to the impeachment. The Hill adds that Massie claimed the resolution was privileged, forcing a vote within two days, which Johnson ignored by sending Congress home early. Axios and The Guardian both state Johnson called the impeachment a “publicity stunt,” while The Daily Wire and UPI include additional context about the Epstein discharge petition and the broader legislative agenda. The Guardian also notes Johnson’s claim that the House has been the second most productive in history, a point not mentioned in other accounts.

Trump Threatens to Demolish Kennedy Center Unless His Name Is Recognized

President Donald Trump has threatened to demolish the Kennedy Center unless his administration receives recognition for its efforts to renovate the venue. A federal judge has ordered the Trump administration to provide 30 days’ notice before any demolition or major structural changes to the center. The ruling follows a court battle over Trump’s attempts to rename the center after himself, which a judge previously blocked. The administration claims the center is in severe structural disrepair and needs urgent repairs, though critics argue the takeover has worsened its financial and reputational decline.

The Kennedy Center, established by Congress as a living memorial to President John F. Kennedy, has been under Trump’s control since the administration replaced its bipartisan board with loyalists. Trump has argued that the center is in “very, very bad shape” and that his involvement is necessary to secure funding for its $257 million renovation. The center temporarily closed earlier this week, with officials citing safety concerns after a ceiling collapse during a storm. However, critics, including Rep. Joyce Beatty, argue the closure may be a tactic to bypass court orders and proceed with renovations without oversight.

Where the accounts differ

Slate reports that Trump replaced the center’s bipartisan board with sycophants and that the new board named him chairman, while ABC News and The Guardian describe the board as being controlled by Trump appointees. Axios and BBC note that the board voted to close the center for renovations, but The Guardian adds that the closure was initially claimed to be temporary for safety reasons. The Dispatch does not mention the board’s composition or the closure, focusing instead on the structural condition of the building. BBC and The Guardian both mention a photo of Trump looking at a placard reading “Kennedy Center DEMOLISHED,” while Slate and Axios describe a similar image but do not attribute it to a specific outlet.

UN experts say grounds to believe US committed war crimes in Iran strikes

The UN Human Rights Council's fact-finding mission concluded there were "reasonable grounds to believe" the US committed war crimes in two strikes on civilian targets in Iran. The first strike, on 28 February, hit a primary school in Minab, killing at least 156 people, including 120 children, according to local authorities. The second strike, also on 28 February, targeted a sports complex and residential area in Lamerd, killing at least 21 civilians, including seven children. The experts said both attacks were indiscriminate and constituted war crimes. The US military has not released findings of its own investigation into the Minab strike, though Defence Secretary Pete Hegseth has stated the US would "never target civilian targets." The UN report also detailed Iran's violent crackdown on protests, including mass arrests, torture, and executions.

The UN mission found that the school in Minab was "clearly identifiable" and that no evidence indicated it was used for military purposes. The experts cited media reports suggesting a preliminary US military inquiry found US forces responsible, and the fact that the US is the only party to the conflict that possesses Tomahawk missiles. They concluded the school was the intended target and that the damage did not result from an errant strike or collateral damage. The US military disputes reports identifying the weapon used in the Lamerd strike as a Precision Strike Missile and claims it carried out no strikes there that day.

Where the accounts differ

BBC and The Guardian both state that the UN experts concluded the US committed war crimes in both strikes, citing the use of Tomahawk missiles and Precision Strike Missiles. UPI and Axios also report similar findings, though UPI mentions the school strike was due to outdated intelligence and President Trump claimed it was done by Iran. CBS News and New York Post focus more on the political response to the report, with the New York Post highlighting the White House's denial of the findings and the UPI reporting on congressional actions. The Guardian and BBC both mention the US military's failure to verify targeting data, while the New York Post attributes the school strike to outdated maps and Trump's claim of Iranian responsibility.

House votes to hold ex-Epstein associate Leon Black in contempt

The US House of Representatives voted to hold Leon Black in contempt of Congress on Wednesday after he ignored subpoenas for further testimony and information. The House passed the contempt resolution by unanimous consent following a bipartisan vote from the Oversight Committee. Black, a billionaire and former CEO of Apollo Global Management, had previously appeared for a voluntary interview with the committee in June but left before it ended. His attorneys claim he cooperated by providing a confidentiality agreement related to Epstein and that the committee is seeking information that does not exist.

Black’s legal team argued that the committee’s subpoenas were invalid and exceeded its authority, accusing Chairman James Comer of abusing power. They stated that Black provided the only confidentiality agreement Epstein knew about and that Ghislaine Maxwell had no involvement in any agreements. The Department of Justice will now decide whether to take action on the contempt resolution, though it is not required to do so.

Where the accounts differ

The New York Post and ABC News both state that Black paid Epstein $158 million between 2012 and 2017, while The Guardian and NPR report the amount as $170 million from 2013 to 2017. The Guardian and NPR also mention that Black described the payments as for tax and estate planning services, a detail not included in the New York Post or ABC News accounts. The BBC and Straight Arrow News report that Black paid Epstein $158 million, but the BBC adds that he described the payments as for legitimate reasons, a claim not made by other outlets. The Guardian and NPR note that Black’s attorneys claimed the committee is seeking information that does not exist, while the New York Post and ABC News attribute this claim to Black’s legal team without specifying the exact wording.

Below the fold

One nomination from outside the front page. The model's printed reason — judge it:

Over 300 women suffered unnecessary breast removals, leading to physical harm and long-term health complications.

Women told breasts removed needlessly as NHS trust finds more than 300 suffered harm

The County Durham and Darlington foundation trust (CDDFT) has informed the BBC that more than 300 women were harmed during breast cancer treatment at its unit. The trust is conducting an internal review of cases from January 2023 to February 2025, as well as 640 former patients who contacted a dedicated helpline. Of 514 cases reviewed so far, 315 patients have been found to have suffered harm, including 77 who were significantly harmed. One patient is known to have died. The trust has also identified cases where cancer diagnoses were missed or delayed, leading to cancer spread in some patients. Denise Howarth, a 51-year-old from Consett, was told her mastectomy could have been avoided. She had initially undergone a lumpectomy, then a mastectomy, along with chemotherapy and radiotherapy. She received the news in September 2025. Jo, a former NHS worker, was told in a phone call earlier this year that her mastectomy could have been avoided. She now feels "mutilated" and describes the mistakes as "absolutely unforgivable."

Where the accounts differ

BBC reports that the trust is considering extending the review to cases dating back to 2015, which could involve up to 10,000 medical records. The Guardian does not mention this potential extension. The BBC also states that the National Crime Agency is working with Durham Police to investigate criminal offences, while the Guardian reports that the trust has been contacted for additional comment and does not specify the involvement of the National Crime Agency. The Guardian mentions that the trust has ended the outsourcing arrangement for breast cancer services, while the BBC notes that the trust has ended this arrangement but does not specify when.

Sources BBC · The Guardian

No source labeled lean-left or lean-right or right covered this story.